Purple Hearts by Tess Wakefield ~ Review & Live

Purple Hearts by Tess Wakefield ~ Review & LivePurple Hearts by Tess Wakefield
ISBN: 1501136496
Published by Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment on April 25th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-half-stars

When a soldier with a troubled past and a struggling songwriter agree to a marriage of convenience for the military benefits, neither expects much after saying “I do.” Then tragedy strikes, and the line between what’s real and what’s pretend begins to blur in this smart and surprising romance perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks and Jojo Moyes.
Cassie Salazar and Luke Morrow couldn’t be more different. Sharp-witted Cassie works nights at a bar in Austin, Texas to make ends meet while pursuing her dream of becoming a singer/songwriter. Luke is an Army trainee, about to ship out for duty, who finds comfort in the unswerving discipline of service. But a chance encounter at Cassie’s bar changes the course of both their lives
Cassie is drowning in medical bills after being diagnosed with diabetes. When she runs into her old friend Frankie, now enlisted in the Army, she proposes a deal: she’ll marry him in exchange for better medical insurance and they can split the increased paycheck that comes with having a “family.” When Frankie declines, his attractive but frustratingly intense friend Luke volunteers to marry Cassie instead. What she doesn’t know is that he has desperate reasons of his own to get married. In this unforgettable love story, Cassie and Luke must set aside their differences to make it look like a real marriage...unless, somewhere along the way, it becomes one...

 

 

 

Review:

I’m still a bit baffled on this one. I really liked the story premise and being former Army myself it really peaked my interest. I think though that the delivery failed on several parts.

One of the things that I struggled with was that the book never really held my attention. About the half way mark I started skimming and then it was just down hill from there. I don’t think the writing was bad, it was just the lack of action and all the with the story.

The other part I had problems with was the character of Cassie. I never liked her and she just rubbed me the wrong way through out the book. There was also that one thing she did. I couldn’t move past it and she just really upset me. I could go on but it would spoil the book.

I think this book is a 50/50 shot for recommending it. It wasn’t for me but it might be for you. *shrugs*

two-half-stars

About Tess Wakefield

When not producing fiction for young readers, Tess Wakefield works in Golden Valley, Minnesota as a copywriter, an amateur comedian, and a caretaker for several thriving plants. PURPLE HEARTS is her first novel for adults.

Leave a Reply

*