Terror In Taffeta by Marla Cooper ~ Review

Terror In Taffeta by Marla Cooper ~ ReviewTerror in Taffeta: A Mystery by Marla Cooper
ISBN: 1250072565
Published by Minotaur Books on March 22nd 2016
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Wedding planner Kelsey McKenna is just a few hours away from wrapping up her latest job: a destination wedding in the charming, colonial Mexican town of San Miguel de Allende. The reception is all set up, the tequila donkey is waiting outside, and the bride and groom are standing on the altar, pledging their eternal love. But just as the priest is about to pronounce them husband and wife, one of the bridesmaids upstages the couple by collapsing into a floral arrangement. Worst of all, Kelsey discovers that she hasn't just fainted-she's dead. The demanding mother of the bride, Mrs. Abernathy, insists Kelsey not tell the wedding party; she paid for a wedding after all, not a funeral.
Losing a bridesmaid is bad enough, but when the bride's sister is arrested for murder, Mrs. Abernathy demands that Kelsey fix the matter at once. And although she's pretty sure investigating a murder isn't in her contract, crossing the well-connected mother of the bride could be a career-killer. Before she can leave Mexico and get back to planning weddings, Kelsey must deal with stubborn detectives, another dead body, and a rekindled romance in this smart, funny cozy debut perfect for fans of Carolyn Haines.
…………………………………….
ADVANCE PRAISE:
“Marla Cooper’s debut novel shines as she encapsulates the best the genre has to offer with a quick-witted heroine, a puzzling page turner of a plot, and a cast of quirky characters like no other. I highly recommend this terrific first in a series!”
— Jenn McKinlay, bestselling author of the Library Lover’s Mysteries, Cupcake Mysteries, and London Hat Shop Mysteries
…………………………………….
“Marla Cooper is one funny lady. Her debut mystery, Terror in Taffeta, crackles with sharp writing and clever plot twists. I definitely say “I do” to this rollicking romp through a wedding from hell.”
—Laura Levine, bestselling author of the Jaine Austen Mystery series
…………………………………….
“Like a perfect margarita, Marla Cooper has blended up a tart and delicious Mexican-set bridal mystery for her wacky and charming cozy debut, Terror in Taffeta.”
—Jerrilyn Farmer, bestselling author of the Madeline Bean Mystery series
…………………………………….
“Terror in Taffeta is a sparkling debut featuring snappy dialogue, colorful characters and a splash of tequila. I look forward to more from Marla Cooper!”
—Nancy Martin, bestselling author of the Blackbird Sisters series
…………………………………….
“Filled with quirky characters and plenty of action, Terror in Taffeta kept me coming back for more. Through thick and thin, Kelsey shows that she’s the kind of protagonist we all want in our corner. Marla Cooper’s writing is fresh and upbeat. I look forward to reading many more of Kelsey’s adventures in Weddingland.”
—Jacklyn Brady, bestselling author of the Piece of Cake Mystery series
…………………………………….
“Drop your plans and read this new series starring Kelsey McKenna, witty and resourceful wedding planner extraordinaire. This wedding planner will win you over!”
—Janet Cantrell, bestselling author of the Fat Cat Mystery series
…………………………………….

Review

To cleanse my romance reading palate, I took this one as an arc to throw something different into the mix. Terror In Taffeta is a fun, light-hearted, and just a funny book. The story was set in a great location, the characters were great and the story moved at a nice pace. There were a few inconsistencies that kinda distracted me from the story though. I also ended up liking the sidekick Brody more then I did Kelsey. He kinda stole the whole show and I think he will be loved the most from this book. Over all though this was a fun book and I am glad I read it.

 

three-half-stars

About Marla Cooper

Marla Cooper was astonished when, at the age of 18, she realized people could actually get paid to write things. So she switched her major from business to advertising—much to the relief of her accounting professor—and began her career as an advertising copywriter.

After moving to San Francisco, she became a freelancer so she could take advantage of perks like working in her pajamas, and now she writes a little bit of everything, including travel writing, web copy, and even the occasional haiku. While ghostwriting a book on destination weddings, she found inspiration for her first novel, Terror in Taffeta—the first in a series about a destination wedding planner.

Originally hailing from Texas, Marla lives in Oakland, California, with her husband and her polydactyl tuxedo cat. She is represented by Jill Marsal of Marsal Lyon Literary Agency, and is looking forward to the publication of her first nonfiction book.

Leave a Reply

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.