The Elizas by Sara Shephard ~ Live & Review !

The Elizas by Sara Shephard ~ Live & Review !The Elizas by Sara Shepard
ASIN: B074ZKKKRT
Published by Atria Books on April 18, 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Thriller, Young Adult
Pages: 353
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars Sara Shepard makes her mark on adult fiction with this Hitchcockian double narrative composed of lies, false memories, and a protagonist who must uncover the truth for survival.

When debut novelist Eliza Fontaine is found at the bottom of a hotel pool, her family at first assumes that it’s just another failed suicide attempt. But Eliza swears she was pushed, and her rescuer is the only witness.

Desperate to find out who attacked her, Eliza takes it upon herself to investigate. But as the publication date for her novel draws closer, Eliza finds more questions than answers. Like why are her editor, agent, and family mixing up events from her novel with events from her life? Her novel is completely fictional, isn’t it?

The deeper Eliza goes into her investigation while struggling with memory loss, the closer her life starts to resemble her novel, until the line between reality and fiction starts to blur and she can no longer tell where her protagonist’s life ends and hers begins.

Fans of Pretty Little Liars, S.J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep, and Ruth Ware’s The Woman in Cabin 10 will be drawn to the drama of feeling like no one is on your side, the high tension of not knowing who you can trust, the hair-raising truths hidden among lies, and a faceless, nameless presence controlling Eliza’s life from the shadows.

Review:

The Elizas is a YA thriller that will keep your mind reeling and makes everyone seem suspect.

Eliza Fontaine finds herself at the bottom of a pool, nearly drowning. When she goes on a quest to find out who she believes pushed her, she finds herself without support from her family and a world that seems to easily brush her off. You see, she has a past. This isn’t the first time she’s been at the bottom of the pool and almost dead. She has her reasons for the past but now this time is different and there seems to only be one person who is willing to help her uncover the truth.

Throughout the book, there are also snippets from Eliza’s book that she has written and her world compared to Dot’s world in that book is so parallel that that lines are blurred between fiction and reality.

I will admit that The Elizas started off extremely slow for me. For that reason, I never really connected to Eliza the way I wanted to, which kind of spiraled into me not really connecting to the book she was writing either. I absolutely loved the concept and truly believe that it was an issue with myself. Maybe I wasn’t in the right head space to read it at the time. Who knows.

I think that Shephard’s writing flows well and she has this way to be able to spin a story that keeps you on your toes and always guessing. If you are looking for a YA thriller that messes with your mind and gives you a “Ah ha!” moment then you need to pick up The Elizas today!

three-stars

About Sara Shepard

Sara Shepard is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Pretty Little Liars series. She has also written other Young Adult series and novels, including The Lying Game, The Heiresses, and The Perfectionists. Sara now lives in Pittsburgh with her family.

Leave a Reply

*